Navratri 2023: Know the Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

It’s almost Shardiya Navratri, which is  the holiday of lights for nine nights.

People all over  the country celebrate this event with great enthusiasm and warmth.

The nine days are  all about Goddess Durga, and people pray to her in  all nine of her forms during these nine days.

This year the Navratri will begin on October 15, 2023, and ending on October 23, 2023.

A lot of people don’t know that Goddess Durga comes in  nine different forms, or how to worship each one.

Read about Navratri 2023: Significance and Meaning

We will talk about these nine forms in  this article.

The Nine Different Forms of Goddess Durga 

  • The first day of Navratri is  a celebration of Maa Shailputri.

    Maa Durga took on the form  of Maa Shailputri when she was born  as Lord Himalaya’s daughter.

    ‘Shail’ means mountain in Sanskrit. She  is called Shailputri, which means “daughter of the mountain,” because of this.
  • Maa Brahmacharini: Lovers worship Maa Brahmacharini on  the second day.

    She is  a representation of the hard punishment that Goddess Parvati does.

    Maa Brahmacharini stands for wisdom, austerity and knowledge.
  • Maa Chandraghanta: On the third day of Navratri, people honor  Maa Chandraghanta.

    She has ten arms and a lot of different tools in  her hands.

    Her other names are Chandrakhanda, Chandika and Rannchandi.

    The name Chandraghanta means “one with the shape of a half moon, like a bell.” Her third eye  is always open.
  • Maa Kushmanda: On the fourth day of Navratri, people pray  to Maa Kushmanda.

    People believe that Maa Kushmanda’s smile  made the world.

    The goddess is shown riding a lion  and carrying a discus, a bow, an arrow, a lotus flower, a trident and a jar of nectar in all eight hands.

    The name of the goddess in Sanskrit is “Kushmanda,” which means “little,” “energy” or “light” and “egg.”
  • Maa Skandamata: On the fifth day, people  honor Maa Skandamata.

    Skand comes from Kartikeya, the name of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati’s son.

    Now this form of the Goddess is  also called Skand. She stands for motherly love.
  • Maa Katyayani: The sixth day of Navratri is  all about Maa Katyayani.

    Hindu scriptures say that Lord Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva joined their powers to make Maa Katyayani who then killed  the monster Mahishasura.

    Mahishasurmardini is also one of the name of the goddess Katyayani.
  • Maa Kaalratri: On the seventh day of Navratri, people honor Maa Kaalratri.

    She  is the strongest form of the goddess Durga. She rides  a donkey and has dark hair that isn’t tied back.

    People think that Goddess Parvati was known as Goddess Kalaratri when she took off  her upper golden skin to kill the demons Shumbha and Nishumbha.
  • Maa Mahagauri: On the eighth day of Navratri, people honor Queen Mahagauri.

    She shines like  the moon and is very bright. She is  a symbol of peace and cleanliness.

    People who worship her think that she  can grant their every wish.
  • Maa Siddhidatri: On the ninth day of Navratri, people pray to Maa Siddhidatri.

    She is  Maa Durga’s ninth form. Siddhi is a word for a magical power or  the ability to meditate, and Datri is  the name of the person who gives all siddhis.

    People who worship Mata Siddhidatri get information from her.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1. Who are the nine incarnations of Durga?

   The nine incarnations of Durga are:

   – Shailputri

   – Brahmacharini

   – Chandraghanta

   – Kushmanda

   – Skandamata

   – Katyayani

   – Kalaratri

   – Mahagauri

   – Siddhidatri

Q2. What is the 9th form of Durga?

Siddhidatri is Durga’s 9th incarnation. She is the goddess of perfection and  grants her followers all siddhis (spiritual abilities).

She is pictured riding a white lion  and wielding a mace, chakra, shankha, and lotus flower in each of  her four hands.

Q3. Who is the 8th avatar of Durga?

Mahagauri is Durga’s 8th avatar. She is  the embodiment of the sattva guna (purity and kindness) and the goddess of pure white light.

She is pictured riding a white bull  while carrying four  weapons: a trident, a discus, a conch shell and a bow and arrow.

Q4. When is Durga Maa arriving in 2023?

Instead of  a lion, Maa Durga’s savaari this year will be an elephant. On October 15, 2023, Durga Maa will arrive and her nine-day Navratri festival will end  on October 23. 

Q5. What are the names of the nine days of Navratri Devi in 2023?

The nine days of Navratri Devi names in 2023 are:

   – Day 1: Shailputri

   – Day 2: Brahmacharini

   – Day 3: Chandraghanta

   – Day 4: Kushmanda

   – Day 5: Skandamata

   – Day 6: Katyayani

   – Day 7: Kalaratri

   – Day 8: Mahagauri

   – Day 9: Siddhidatri

Q6. Why are there 9 avatars of Durga?

The 9 various facets of Durga’s might and divinity are represented by  her nine avatars.

Additionally, they represent the 9 stages of a woman’s existence, from birth to death.

Q7. Who is Durga husband?

Maa Durga is occasionally worshipped as  a celibate goddess. As  per Shaktism traditions however, Lord Shiva is  worshipped alongside Maa Durga.

Q8. What is the 10th form of Durga?

Maha Kali represents Durga in  her 10th incarnation. She is  the fiercest and most destructive manifestation of Durga and she  is often worshipped by experienced tantriks.

Maha Kali is pictured as  a terrifying, four-armed, dark goddess who stands on Lord Shiva’s body as  a representation of her victory over destruction and death.

Please note that different scriptures may have varying lists of Durga’s incarnations, but the list provided here is the most widely accepted.

This Post Has 9 Comments

Leave a Reply