Balanced Chakras: Your Guide to Spiritual Wellness

What are Chakras?

The word chakra originated from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’. Chakras are believed to be centers of energy in the human body that control various physical, emotional, and spiritual factors. They are generally shown as spinning wheels of light. Additionally, each chakra is associated with a different color, element, and sound.

It’s said that this concept originated in India and its blueprint can be traced back to the Vedas (ancient Hindu scriptures). The oldest records of of it date back to 1500 BCE. That said, overtime the concept of chakras eventually evolved and spread to more cultures including Buddhism and Tibetan tantrism.

photo of a woman laid down during meditation with a chakras sound bowl next to her

The 7 Chakras

Essentially, there are seven chakras. These chakras are believed to exist in the astral body, alongside the spine, starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra represents and controls a specific part of the body and life. Let’s understand these chakras:

  • Root Chakra (Muladhara): At the base of the spine we find the root chakra. It is associated with the red color and promotes grounding and stability. 
  • Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): The sacral chakra’s location is below the naval. This chakra is associated with the color orange and promotes creativity and pleasure.
  • Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): This chakra is located in the abdomen in the upper section and associates with the yellow color. It is in control of personal power and will.
  • Heart Chakra (Anahata): The heart chakra’s located in the chest right at the center. It’s association is with the color green. It controls emotions like love and compassion. 
  • Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): As the name suggests this chakra is located in the throat region. It’s associated with communication and expressiveness.
  • Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): The third eye chakra is said to be located in between the eyebrows and represents the indigo color. It’s associated with instinct and wisdom.
  • Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): This chakra is located at the top of the head. It is linked with the violet color and is responsible for spiritual peace and awareness.

Benefits of Balanced Chakras

The idea of the benefits of balanced chakras originates from spiritual and energy healing practices such as Yoga and Ayurveda. Here are some benefits of balanced chakras:

  • Improved physical health: Balanced chakras are thought to be beneficial for your entire body. It’s believed that when the flow of energy is smooth through the chakras our body experiences a positive effect. This positive effect is good for the working conditions of our organs and the role they carry out on our bodies.
  • Better mental health: Balanced chakras promote peace of mind and mental stability. Removing imbalance in certain chakras may assist people in feeling more stronger mentally and deal with stress in a more efficient way.
  • Clearer mind: Balanced chakras also promote clearer thinking and a focused mind. It is believed that when the centres of energy are balanced, the working potential of the human brain is better. A healthy brain in turn helps in making better decisions.
  • Increased creativity: Some chakras control creativity and expression. When these energy centres are balanced people tend to be more creative and can express themselves better.
  • Better Spiritual connection: The ones who follow spiritual practices believe that balanced chakras can help in a stronger spiritual link. It could help with better self analysis and understand life more deeply.
  • Better Relationships: Having balanced chakras can promote better relationship skills. People may be better at connecting with others if the chakras associated with talking and understanding are balanced. 
  • Increased Vitality and Energy: It’s believed that balanced chakras can help you in feeling more energetic. Additionally, better health can also be experienced when energy flows smoothly through the chakras.

It’s important to remember that the idea of chakras and keeping them balanced comes from spiritual practices. Some people have experienced its benefits while some might have a different experience.

How to Balance Chakras?

There are various different methods for balancing chakras. Some common ones that are practiced to keep chakras balanced are:

  • Meditation: Regular meditation can help in becoming more aware of each of the 7 chakras. While meditating, practice focusing on each energy centre. Perform guided chakra meditation to picture these chakras.
  • Pranayama (breathing exercise): Perform breathing exercises to keep the flow of energy in your body smooth. A smooth flow of energy throughout your body can help keep your chakras balanced. It’s believed that chakras can be triggered and purified by taking deep, managed breaths.
  • Yoga: Incorporate postures and moves that link with each chakra into your Yoga routine. Yoga can help your body relax and energy flow better.
  • Positive affirmation: Repeat positive statement to yourself about each chakra. Follow repetition while you meditate during the day. Positive statements can help in changing negative thoughts and feelings that are associated with certain chakras.
  • Sound therapy: Try listening to sound frequencies tuned to each chakra or use singing bowls. People think that certain sound frequencies connect with specific energy centres and help keeps chakras in balance.
  • Healing crystals: During meditation, you can places certain crystals on the parts of the body that the 7 chakras are associated with. People believe that crystals can attract, improve, and balance energy.
  • Aromatherapy: Some people use fragrant oils linked with each of the 7 chakras. These oils can be used during massage or meditation and it’s thought that breathing them in can impact the energy centres.
  • Energy healing: You can also take the help of energy healers or Reiki practitioners to get your chakras lined up and balanced. This practice of healing is done to remove any energy blockage in the body so that positive energy can move more freely.
  • Healthy lifestyle: Try to maintain a healthy lifestyle by eating the right things, working out regularly, and getting the right amount of sleep in. After all mental health and physical health are related.


Chakras are a powerful spiritual indicator and if in a balanced state can promote personal growth and peace of mind. By working towards balancing them you can learn to live a more a peaceful and fulfilling life. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1: What do the 7 chakras mean?

They are believed to be centers of energy in the human body that control various physical, emotional, and spiritual factors. Each chakra is associated with a different color and element.

Q2: How to activate chakras?

They can be activated by various methods. Some commonly used methods are yoga, meditation, breathing excerise, mantras, and mudras.

Q3: Are the chakras good or bad?

Essentially, they are not good or bad. However, their state of balance and imbalance can have positive and negative effects on a person.

Q4: What does wearing the 7 chakras mean?

This term simply means wearing certain jewellery or crystal associated with a chakra. Each chakra represents a different color and element and that is what the wearable items represent.

This Post Has 7 Comments

Leave a Reply